Atomic Outros!

One of my web content philosophies is that people want you to entertain them. They don’t want to come and sit through you showing off how cool your brand design is, or you begging them to subscribe and watch more of your content.

So our outros have been, for the longest time, transparent and out of the way. Sort of.

They were certainly more out of the way than most other outros on YouTube. If not all other outros.
They were certainly more out of the way than most other outros on YouTube. If not all other outros.

Recently, I managed to get a free 30-day trial of Adobe Illustrator, in order to recreate our Absurd Axis Network logo. Then I thought, you know what, it’s time to update our YouTube outros as well. So I looked at them, and I thought about what could be better, and in the middle of the night I came up with much sleeker outros that looked like this:

No, I didn't zoom the picture out. The outro is just less in the way.
No, I didn’t zoom the picture out. The outro is just less in the way.

And that seemed “good enough” for a few hours. But then, late this afternoon, I realized, you know what, I only have a 30-day free trial of Adobe Illustrator here, and if I’m thinking these outros are “good enough,” then they aren’t good enough. If I can make them better then I need to make them better now.

So I did. And now, starting January 2016 at the latest, we’ll be using what I call “atomic outros” on our videos. They match the minimalistic, almost-invisible-yet-still-very-clear style of the new AweMire intro that I made a while ago, which is an added bonus.

Now that's what I call a perfect outro template. More funny content, less begging/bragging, and yet your clicking options are still clear as day. I seriously can't think of a way to make it more perfect. It is what it is. Which is perfect, if I haven't said that enough times.
Now that’s what I call a perfect outro template. More funny content, less begging/bragging, and yet your clicking options are still clear as day. I seriously can’t think of a way to make it more perfect. It is what it is. Which is perfect, if I haven’t said that enough times.

Of course, the atomic outros do have a downside. They’re out of the way, yet captivating. They’re small, yet highly visible. They’re non-distracting, yet clear. But despite all that, there is at least one downside to them…

I don’t really know what it is, but I’m sure they have one. Maybe. Probably not.

Alright then, have a good day!

Leave a Reply

